Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Jaguars sign seven players to practice squad


The Jacksonville Jaguars signed seven players to their practice squad today including six players who spent the preseason with the club.   Teams are allowed up to 10 players on their practice squad.

The six players who spent the preseason with the club are offensive tackle Cody Booth, defensive tackle DeAndre Coleman, safety Craig Loston, quarterback Stephen Morris, wide receiver Kerry Taylor and linebacker Marcus Whitfield.  The Jaguars also added rookie wide receiver Tony Washington to the practice squad.

Washington, 5-11, 198, was originally signed by the Indianapolis Colts as a rookie free agent on May 13, 2014 and was waived on August 25.  He finished the 2014 preseason with three catches for 37 yards including a 33-yard reception.  He played in 49 games at Appalachian State and totaled 139 catches for 1,837 yards and 10 touchdowns while also contributing 90 rushing yards and two scores.  He had a stellar senior campaign en route to earning first-team all-conference honors, hauling in 64 receptions for 939 yards.  He ranked 11th in the FCS with a 27.3-yard kickoff return average and 21st nationally with a 9.0-yard punt return as a junior.

A native of High Point, North Carolina, Washington attended T.W. Andrews High School and totaled more than 1,000 all-purpose yards as senior while catching 43 passes for 600 yards.  He led the team as a senior with 16 touchdowns (eight receiving, five rushing, three kickoff returns).  He is one of only 16 nationwide recipients of the National Football Foundation's 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Award, graduating from Appalachian State with a 3.80 cumulative grade point average.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content