Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Official: Tony Boselli not in 2019 Hall of Fame class

Jacksonville Jaguars Tony Boselli (71) plays in a game against the NE Patriots at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium in Jacksonville, FL.December 7, 1997. (AP Photo/Tom DiPace)

ATLANTA, Ga. – The wait continues.

Tony Boselli, the first collegiate player ever selected by the Jaguars in an NFL Draft and a cornerstone of the franchise in its early years, on Saturday was not among those chosen for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2019.

Boselli, a three-time Associated All Pro selection and a five-time Pro Bowl selection for the Jaguars from 1995-2001, has been among the 15 finalists for the Hall the past three years. He has been a semifinalist the past four years.

"It's disappointing," Boselli said shortly after hearing the news. "Five guys got in. I wasn't one of them. You just sit back and be thankful to be a part of the process and have a chance. We'll see what happens in the future."

Boselli, the No. 2 overall selection by the Jaguars in the 1995 NFL Draft before their inaugural season, is in his 13th season of eligibility. Players have 20 years eligibility to be elected as modern-era candidates, after which they are considered by the Hall's Seniors Committee.

Five modern-era players were elected to the Hall Saturday: tight end Tony Gonzalez, safety Ed Reed, cornerback Champ Bailey, cornerback Ty Law and center Kevin Mawae. Gonzalez, Reed and Bailey were elected in their first year of eligibility. Law and Mawae – like Boselli – were in their third year as finalists.

"All of those guys are great players," Boselli said. "You can make an argument for every one of them."

The nine other modern-era finalists not elected Saturday were: Head Coach Tom Flores, Head Coach Don Coryell, running back Edgerrin James, defensive end Richard Seymour, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, guard Steve Hutchinson, guard Alan Faneca, safety John Lynch and safety Steve Atwater.

Boselli was a second-team member of the 1990s All-Decade team. He is one of five second-team offensive players from the '90s All-Decade team not in the Hall of Fame.

Related Content