Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Boselli a Hall of Fame finalist



JACKSONVILLE – Tony Boselli is a Hall of Fame finalist again.

Boselli, the Jaguars' first selection in their first collegiate draft and the first player inducted into the team's Pride of the Jaguars, on Tuesday night was named one of 15 Modern-Era Finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

This is the second consecutive year Boselli has been among the 15 finalists. He made the cut to the final 10 during the selection process last February.

Boselli, the No. 2 overall selection in the 1995 NFL Draft, played for the Jaguars from 1995-2001 and was named to the Pro Bowl every season from 1996-2000. He is a member of the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1990s, and is the only offensive player on that team not currently in the Hall of Fame.

The other Modern-Era finalists for 2018:

*Isaac Bruce, wide receiver; Brian Dawkins, safety; Alan Faneca, guard; Steve Hutchinson, guard; Joe Jacoby, tackle; Edgerrin James, running back; Ty Law, cornerback; Ray Lewis, linebacker; John Lynch, free safety; Kevin Mawae, center; Randy Moss, wide receiver; Terrell Owens, wide receiver; Brian Urlacher, linebacker; Everson Walls, cornerback.

Moss, Hutchinson, Urlacher, Lewis and Walls are all finalists for the first time, with Moss, Hutchinson, Urlacher and Lewis in their first year of eligibility. Boselli is in his 12th year of eligibility.

The Annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee Meeting will be held Saturday, February 3 in Minneapolis, Minn., with the Super Bowl to be held in Minneapolis the following day.

The 48-person Selection Committee can select between four-to-eight new members each year, with no more than five Modern-Era candidates selected each year.

Two Senior Finalists have been announced for the '18 class – former Houston Oilers linebacker Robert Brazile and former Green Bay Packers guard Jerry Kramer. One Contributor Finalist also has been announced: former longtime Washington Redskins and San Diego Chargers General Manager Bobby Beathard.

A finalist must receive votes from a minimum of 80 percent of the committee to be selected.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content