Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Roster reduction: Jaguars move to 53 players

Roster Transaction

JACKSONVILLE – The Jaguars reduced their roster in a big way Saturday.

Two days after the preseason finale and eight days before the 2019 regular-season opener, the Jaguars had their busiest transaction day of the year as they reduced their roster from 85 players to the NFL regular-season limit of 53.

The Jaguars waived/released 25 Saturday, placing two on injured reserve, waiving/injured four and placing veteran linebacker Jake Ryan on the regular-season reserve/non-football injury list.

The team announced the transactions late Saturday afternoon.

The team waived three veterans who have spent time on the Jaguars' active roster: first-year defensive tackle Lyndon Johnson, first-year safety C.J. Reavis and second-year veteran Quenton Meeks.

Saturday's moves:

*Waived/released: rookie offensive lineman Ka'John Armstrong, rookie wide receiver Tyre Brady, rookie cornerback Tae Hayes, rookie running back Elijah Hood, rookie tight end Charles Jones, rookie wide receiver Raphael Leonard, rookie tight end Carson Meier, rookie Joshua Moon, rookie cornerback Picasso Nelson, rookie cornerback Saivion Smith, rookie offensive lineman Bunchy Stallings, rookie linebacker Connor Strachan, rookie defensive tackle Kalani Vakameilalo, rookie wide receiver Michael Walker, rookie cornerback Brandon Watson, rookie defensive lineman Andrew Williams, first-year tight end Donnie Ernsberger, Johnson, first-year quarterback Alex McGough, Reavis, first-year tight end Ethan Wolf, second-year wide receiver Quadree Henderson, second-year defensive tackle Michael Hughes, Meeks and fourth-year wide receiver Tre McBride.

*Waived/injured: rookie offensive lineman Donnell Greene, second-year running back Devante Mays, first-year offensive lineman KC McDermott and fourth-year offensive lineman Leonard Wester. If those players clear waivers, they will revert to the team's reserve/injured list.

Reserve/injured: ninth-year offensive lineman Ben Ijalana and seventh-year wide receiver Terrelle Pryor Sr.

Reserve/non-football injury: Ryan, who is eligible to come off the reserve/non-football injury list as early as Monday, October 14 (six games).

The Jaguars on Friday released running back Thomas Rawls, offensive tackle Josh Wells, defensive lineman Datone Jones and linebacker Ramik Wilson. They also released linebacker Davis Tull via injury settlement Friday.

Related Content