Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Roster reduction: Jaguars move to 53 players

RWP_40gg24 copy

JACKSONVILLE – The Jaguars reduced their roster in a big way Saturday.

Two days after the 2018 preseason finale and eight days before the regular-season opener, the Jaguars had their busiest transaction day of the year as they reduced their roster from 89 players to the NFL-mandated regular-season limit of 53.

The Jaguars waived 30 players Saturday, releasing one, placing one on injured reserve, waiving/injured three and placing defensive end Dante Fowler Jr. on the Reserve/Suspended by Commissioner list.

Fowler will rejoin the team on Monday, Sept. 10. He does not currently count against the 53-player active roster.

The team announced the transactions late Saturday afternoon.

Among the notable moves: waiving 2017 sixth-round cornerback Jalen Myrick and 2018 sixth-round quarterback Tanner Lee. They were the only two former Jaguars draft selections released by the team Saturday.

The team also waived three veterans who have spent time on the Jaguars' active roster: third-year wide receiver Shane Wynn, second-year defensive end Carroll Phillips and second-year offensive tackle William Poehls.

The Jaguars also waived/injured tight end Ben Koyack, a seventh-round selection by the Jaguars in the 2017 NFL Draft who played 30 games over the last two seasons.

Saturday's moves:

*Waived: rookie offensive lineman Tony Adams, rookie cornerback Bryce Canady, first-year running back Tim Cook, first-year wide receiver Montay Crockett, rookie cornerback Dee Delaney, rookie linebacker Nick DeLuca, first-year defensive end Hunter Dimick, first-year offensive lineman Michael Dunn, first-year tight end David Grinnage, rookie linebacker Reggie Hunter, rookie defensive end Darius Jackson, rookie defensive lineman Lyndon Johnson, third-year linebacker Deon King, rookie wide receiver Allen Lazard, Lee, rookie offensive lineman KC McDermott, rookie cornerback Quenton Meeks, first-year cornerback Charlie Miller, rookie wide receiver Dorren Miller, rookie linebacker Andrew Motuapuaka, Myrick, first-year tight end Scott Orndoff, Phillips, Poehls, rookie cornerback C.J. Reavis, second-year cornerback Sammy Seamster, first-year wide receiver DeAndre Smelter, rookie offensive lineman Brandon Smith, first-year running back Brandon Wilds and Wynn.

*Released: sixth-year defensive tackle Sealver Siliga.

*Waived/injured: rookie tight end DeAndre Goolsby, rookie linebacker Manase Hungalu and Koyack. All three will revert to the team's reserve/injured list if they clear waivers.

Reserve/injured: fifth-year cornerback Kenneth Acker.

Related Content