Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Calais Campbell named a finalist for 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Jacksonville Jaguars defensive end Calais Campbell (93) enters the field during pregame introductions before kick-off against the Houston Texans in an NFL game, Sunday, Nov. 3, 2019 in London. (Rick Wilson/Jacksonville Jaguars)

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Jaguars DL Calais Campbell has been named one of the eight finalists for the 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, an NFL honor presented annually to a player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

Campbell, who is finalist for the second consecutive season, is joined on the final ballot by LB Thomas Davis, Sr. (Los Angeles Chargers), WR T.Y. Hilton (Indianapolis), RB Adrian Peterson (Washington), WR Matthew Slater (New England), QB Matthew Stafford (Detroit), OL Joe Staley (San Francisco) and S Eric Weddle (Los Angeles Rams). The finalists were selected by a panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community, including Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players begin voting today.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player. The winner, selected by the vote of the players, will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 1 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LIV. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


Table inside Article
Nominee Team Conference
DL Calais Campbell Jacksonville Jaguars AFC
LB Thomas Davis, Sr Los Angeles Chargers AFC
WR T.Y. Hilton Indianapolis Colts AFC
RB Adrian Peterson Washington Redskins NFC
WR Matthew Slater New England Patriots AFC
QB Matthew Stafford Detroit Lions NFC
T Joe Staley San Francisco 49ers NFC
S Eric Weddle Los Angeles Rams NFC


Table inside Article
Year Player Team
2018 QB Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
2017 LB Luke Kuechly Carolina Panthers
2016 RB Frank Gore Indianapolis Colts
2015 CB Charles Woodson Oakland Raiders
2014 WR Larry Fitzgerald Arizona Cardinals

Related Content