Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Jaguars trim roster

The Jacksonville Jaguars today released 19 players including quarterback Byron Leftwich, traded RB Alvin Pearman to Seattle for an undisclosed draft choice, and placed two players – DE James Wyche (groin) and WR Mike Walker (knee) on injured reserve. The other veterans included in today's cuts were G Dan Connolly, S Jamaal Fudge, LB Nick Greisen, DT Seth Payne, WR Charles Sharon, CB Bruce Thornton and CB Dee Webb.

One of the Jaguars' 11 draft picks, safety Josh Gattis (fifth round), was waived. Joining Gattis were ten first-year players: DT Joe Anoai, LB Kevis Coley, DL Walter Curry, OT Ryan Gibbons, DE Tyler King, DB Jamar Landrom, LB Roy Manning, G Pete McMahon, CB Rashod Moulton and TE Isaac Smolko.

The Jaguars' roster now stands at 53 players. The team can sign eight players to their practice squad after 12:00 noon Sunday. Of the 53 players, 34 were drafted by Jacksonville including 27 from 2003 through 2007. This marked the first season under head coach Jack Del Rio that no undrafted rookies made the initial 53-man roster.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.