Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Awards season


With the NFL season complete, I thought it was appropriate to look back at the Jaguars players who were recognized for their play in 2010.  The Jaguars had three players in the Pro Bowl - running back Maurice Jones-Drew (starter), tight end Marcedes Lewis (who ended up starting the game) and special teamer Montell Owens - the most for the Jaguars since 1999.

Here's a closer look at the players that were honored this past season:

Maurice Jones-Drew – Voted as starter for the Pro Bowl, the second straight season he was named to the team. Named to Sporting News NFL All-Pro Team. Named NFL Alumni Running Back of the Year. Named FedEx Ground NFL Player of the Week following his performance against Cleveland on Nov. 21. Jones-Drew rushed for 133 yards and registered a career-high 220 yards from scrimmage in the win. Named FedEx Ground NFL Player of the Week after he rushed for a career-high 186 yards on Dec. 5 at Tennessee. 

Tyson Alualu - Named to The Dallas Morning News All-Rookie Team, Pro Football Weekly All-Rookie Team, Sporting News All-Rookie Team.  Named AFC South Rookie of the Year.

Marcedes Lewis – Voted to Pro Bowl. Named to Peter King's NFL All-Pro Team.  Named to Pro Football Focus NFL All-Pro Team. Named All-AFC South Team.

David Garrard - Named the AFC Offensive Player of the Week for the first time in his career following the Jaguars' 35-17 win at Dallas in week eight.  Garrard threw for a career-high four touchdowns and ran for another in the win.  A Garrard highlight was voted by fans as the GMC NEVER SAY NEVER MOMENT OF THE WEEK for games played on November 11-15 after he connected with Mike Thomas on a 50-yard "Hail Mary" touchdown pass against Houston on Nov. 14 with no time remaining. 

Josh Scobee - Named the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week for the fifth time in his career following his franchise-record 59-yard field goal as time expired in week four to give the Jaguars a 31-28 win over the Colts.  Named to Pro Football Weekly Midseason All-Pro Team.

Montell Owens – Voted to Pro Bowl as AFC's special teamer.  Named All-AFC South Team.

Vince Manuwai– Selected to USA Today All-Joe Team. The award is named after former Kansas City Chiefs player Joe Phillips and goes to the players and coaches who have overachieved and are often overlooked.

Daryl Smith - Named All-AFC South Team. Named the AFC Defensive Player of the Week for the first time in his career following his performance in the season-opener against Denver.  Smith led the Jaguars with 11 tackles and contributed a forced fumble, one interception, one pass defensed and one quarterback hit. 

Greg Jones - Named toThe Dallas Morning News All-Pro Team. Named to Pro Football Focus All-Pro Team.

Terrance Knighton - Named All-AFC South Team.

Uche Nwaneri -Named All-AFC South Team.

Adam Podlesh - Named All-AFC South Team.

Aaron Kampman - Selected by his teammates as the Ed Block Courage Award Recipient.

Brad Meester - Selected as the Jaguars Walter Payton Man of the Year.

Dirk Koetter – Named AFC South Assistant Coach of the Year.

Gene Smith – Named AFC South Executive of the Year

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content