Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Former Jaguars RB Maurice Jones-Drew Named to UCLA Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2017


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Former Jaguars RB and three-time Pro Bowler Maurice Jones-Drew was named to UCLA Athletics' Hall of Fame Class of 2017, the school announced on Wednesday.

"It's an honor to be a part of the UCLA Hall of Fame class that includes so many great athletes," said Jones-Drew. "UCLA provided me with a great experience, both athletically and academically, and I had the chance to work with coaches, teammates, and classmates that have had a huge impact on my success in the NFL and post-NFL career. I look forward to being back on UCLA's campus in October to accept this huge honor."

Jones-Drew, who owns Jaguars records for career TDs (81), career rushing TDs (68), consecutive games with a rushing TD (eight), longest run from scrimmage (80t, tied with former RB Fred Taylor), career receptions by a RB (335), career receiving yards by a RB (2,873), career kick return yardage (2,054) and career kick return average (26.00, minimum of 50 kick returns), spent eight seasons with the Jaguars (2006-13).

Jones-Drew, a second-round selection (60th overall) by Jacksonville in the 2006 NFL Draft, rushed for 8,071 yards with the Jaguars and rushed for 1,000 yards in three consecutive seasons, 2009-2011, and made the Pro Bowl following each of those seasons. He led the NFL in rushing in the 2011 season with a franchise-record 1,606 yards and added eight rushing TDs.

Prior to being selected by the Jaguars, Jones-Drew attended UCLA from 2003-05 and electrified Bruin fans with record-breaking performances on the gridiron. By the end of his playing career at UCLA, he had set school records in career and single-season all-purpose yards, TDs in a game, single-game rushing yards, and single-season punt returns for TDs. He also set a NCAA record that still stands with a punt return average of 28.5 yards in 2005 and went on to earn first-team All-America honors as an all-purpose back/kick returner.

Nine new members will join the UCLA Athletics Hall of Fame in 2017 during an induction ceremony on Oct. 20. The group will be honored at halftime of the UCLA-Oregon football game on Oct. 21.

Jones-Drew joins Toby Bailey (men's basketball), Robin Beauregard (women's water polo), Monique Henderson (track & field), Bob Larsen (track & field/cross country coach), Kristen Maloney (gymnastics), Brandon Taliaferro (men's volleyball), Gina Vecchione (softball) and Bobby Field (extraordinary service to the athletic department) as 2017 UCLA Athletics Hall of Fame inductees.

For more information on UCLA Athletics' Hall of Fame Class of 2017, please visit:

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content