Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Taylor first alternate


Fred Taylor's quest to play in the Pro Bowl will now depend on one of the AFC's three elected running backs to opt out of the game. For the second consecutive year, Taylor was named first alternate at running back for the AFC Pro Bowl team.

Willie Parker of the Steelers, LaDainian Tomlinson of the Chargers and Joseph Addai of the Colts are the three running backs selected to the AFC Pro Bowl team. If any of the three elects not to play in the game, Taylor would be his replacement.

The Jaguars had no players selected to the AFC squad. Taylor is one of three Jaguars first alternates. The other two are cornerback Rashean Mathis and fullback Greg Jones.

Quarterback David Garrard, defensive tackle John Henderson and middle linebacker Mike Peterson were named second alternates.

The complete AFC and NFC Pro Bowl squads were to be presented on NFL Network, beginning at four p.m.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content