Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Jacksonville Chapter of NFL Alumni Elects New Officers

The Jacksonville Chapter of the NFL Alumni Association has elected new officers for the 2001 calendar year. Matt Robinson will be the chapter's new President, and outgoing President Pete Banaszak will sit as the chapter's Vice President. Mark Griffis and Russ Lyons will retain their offices as Secretary and Treasurer, respectively. Paul Rochester will serve as Membership Coordinator.

The NFL Alumni Association is a national non-profit service organization of former professional football players who work voluntarily on behalf of youth and charity. The two major objectives of the NFL Alumni are: 1) to render useful public service by raising funds for worthy causes that, for the most part, are youth-oriented in nature, and 2) foster development of "youth through sports and sports through youth."

Incoming President Robinson is a former University of Georgia and NFL quarterback. Robinson played for the New York Jets, Denver Broncos and Buffalo Bills. Robinson has worked for the Jacksonville Jaguars in the Broadcast Division as Radio Color analyst for the last six years. Robinson is also a member of the Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame.

"Pete's leadership has been a driving force in the success of the Alumni Association to date, along with many others," said Robinson. "Our efforts and programs will continue to focus on the young people of Jacksonville who will shape the future of our fine community."

Banaszak was elected as the first President when he and Robinson formed the chapter nearly six years ago. Pete played 13 seasons for the Oakland Raiders, having started in the team's victory in Super Bowl XI. He also won two AFC Championships. Banaszak now co-hosts the Jaguars' post game show

Mark Griffis has been the with NFL Alumni organization from it's inception, acting as Treasurer until Russ Lyons took over the office in 1999. At that time, Griffis became the chapter's Secretary. Both Griffis and Lyons are officers with First Union Bank of Jacksonville.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.