Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Hall of Fame: Boselli named finalist


JACKSONVILLE – Tony Boselli is a step away again.

It's a large step, but a potentially historical one – with the Jaguars legend being named a modern-era finalist for the 2021 Pro Football Hall of Fame class Tuesday.

Boselli, a Jaguars left tackle from 1995-2001, was named a Hall finalist for the fifth consecutive year. He was among 15 finalists announced Tuesday evening on NFL Network.

"It's a huge honor to be a finalist," Boselli said Tuesday. "You don't take it for granted, because every guy in the Top 25 are great players. We'll see. You cherish the moment and you're thankful that you're being recognized for what you did on the field."

Boselli, the No. 2 overall selection the 1995 NFL Draft – the Jaguars' first draft – made five Pro Bowls and was named first-team All-Pro in seven seasons with the Jaguars. His career was cut short by shoulder injuries. He has been a Hall semifinalist six consecutive years.

Former Jaguars running back Fred Taylor was among 10 semifinalists not making the final 15. Taylor has been a semifinalist the last two years.

Four first-year eligible players were among the 15 finalists named Tuesday: defensive end Jared Allen, wide receiver Calvin Johnson, quarterback Peyton Manning and cornerback Charles Woodson. To be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a nominated individual must not have participated as an active player for five consecutive seasons.

The other 10 modern-era finalists: safety LeRoy Butler, linebacker Clay Matthews, wide receiver Torry Holt, wide receiver Reggie Wayne, safety John Lynch, cornerback Ronde Barber, defensive lineman Richard Seymour, linebacker Sam Mills, linebacker Zach Thomas and offensive guard Alan Faneca.

The list of finalists was reduced from a list of 25 semifinalists announced in late November. That list was reduced from an initial group of 130 nominees announced in September. No more than five modern-era candidates make the hall each year.

The Class of 2021 will be determined January 19.

Related Content