Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Jones-Drew named to AP All-Pro team


Jacksonville Jaguars running back Maurice Jones-Drew today was named to the Associated Press 2011 NFL All-Pro first team. Jones-Drew led the NFL in rushing in 2011 and set the single-season franchise record with 1,606 rushing yards.

Jones-Drew is only the fifth player in Jaguars history to be voted to the first team, joining Tony Boselli (1997-99), Bryan Barker (1997), Kevin Hardy (1999) and Rashean Mathis (2006). Jones-Drew and Boselli are the only offensive players in team history to receive the honor.

Jones-Drew, who was voted to his third Pro Bowl in 2011, was the first player in franchise history to lead the NFL in rushing yards.  He finished second in the NFL with a franchise single-season record 1,980 yards from scrimmage.  He accounted for 47.7 percent of the Jaguars offense in 2011, the highest percentage in the NFL and the highest in franchise history. In 12 of 16 games he accounted for at least 40 percent of the club's offense, and at least 50 percent in eight games.

The sixth-year pro had six 100-yard rushing games including three straight to conclude the season. Jones-Drew became the first player in franchise history with at least 1,300 rushing yards in three consecutive seasons and he is the only NFL player to accomplish the feat the last three seasons. He set the franchise career record for touchdowns with 74 and ended the season tied for the most rushing touchdowns in team history with 62.  He had a career-high 43 rushes of 10-plus yards in 2011, the second-most in the NFL.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content