Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

Jones receives award


Jacksonville Jaguars FB Greg Jones was one of 32 NFL players honored at the annual Ed Block Courage Awards Dinner on March 11 in Baltimore, Md.

The award is presented to a player from each team who exemplifies a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage and serves as a role model in the community. Jones returned the lineup in 2007 after missing the entire 2006 season after suffering an ACL injury in his left knee during the preseason.

The award is named for former Baltimore Colts Head Athletic Trainer Ed Block who worked for the organization from 1954 to 1977. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies who provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the NFL.

Past Jaguars winners include: Jorge Cordova (2006), Paul Spicer (2005), David Garrard (2004), Tony Brackens (2003), Fred Taylor (2002), Jimmy Smith (2001), Tony Boselli (2000), James Stewart (1999), Mark Brunell (1998), Dave Thomas (1997), Derek Brown (1996) and Paul Frase (1995).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content