Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -

What a difference a year makes


The Jaguars began the 2009 season with 22 new players on the roster and that number has dwindled to 16 as the 2010 season gets underway.  In addition, four rookies started the 2009 season-opener in offensive tackles Eugene Monroe and Eben Britton along with cornerback Derek Cox and defensive tackle Terrance Knighton.  The only rookie expected to start in the 2010 opener is defensive tackle Tyson Alualu.

There are 16 new faces among the 53 players on the Jaguars' current roster. Here is the breakdown.

Unrestricted Free Agents (2) —DE Aaron Kampman, WR Kassim Osgood
Veteran Free Agents (2) –DTLeger Douzable, DL Jeremy Mincey
Trade (3) —LB Kirk Morrison, G Justin Smiley, CB David Jones
Waivers (1) –DT Landon Cohen
Draft Choices (5) —DT Tyson Alualu, DE Larry Hart, RB/KR Deji Karim, DE Austen Lane, RS Scotty McGee
Undrafted Rookies (3) —LB Jacob Cutrera, OT Kevin Haslam, DE Aaron Morgan

Only two players left
Center Brad Meester and quarterback David Garrard are the only players on the Jaguars roster whose career started prior to Jack Del Rio taking over the helm in 2003.  Meester and Garrard were both drafted by former head coach Tom Coughlin.

Elder statesmen
Four Jaguars have played in 100 or more games during their careers: center Brad Meester (145 games, 145 starts), defensive end Aaron Kampman (112 games, 104 starts), wide receiver Kassim Osgood (108 games, 13 starts) and cornerback Rashean Mathis (100 games, 100 starts). Only Meester and Mathis have played in 100 games as a Jaguar.

Five Jaguars have played in 75 or more games: guard Vince Manuwai (95 games, 94 starts), linebacker Daryl Smith (92 games, 90 starts), kicker Josh Scobee (88 games, 0 starts), guard Justin Smiley (83 games, 73 starts) and linebacker Kirk Morrison (80 games, 79 starts)

Jaguars go with two quarterbacks
The Jaguars will start the 2010 season with only two quarterbacks (David Garrard, Luke McCown) on their opening day roster for the fourth consecutive season and fourth time overall.

Roster by experience Rookies (8) -DT Tyson Alualu, DE Larry Hart, DE Austen Lane, RB/KR Deji Karim, RS Scotty McGee, LB Jacob Cutrera, OT Kevin Haslam, DE Aaron Morgan,
1st Year (2) -FB Brock Bolen, TE Zach Potter
2nd Year (14) -LB Russell Allen, OT Eben Britton, DB Don Carey, CB Derek Cox, WR Jarett Dillard, DT Leger Douzable, S Courtney Greene, RB Rashad Jennings, DT Terrance Knighton, CB Willam Middleton, TE Zach Miller, OT Eugene Monroe, WR Mike Thomas, WR Tiquan Underwood
3rd Year (4) -DB Tyron Brackenridge, DT Landon Cohen, DE Derrick Harvey, DL Jeremy Mincey
4th Year (7) -LS Jeremy Cain, DB Michael Coe, LB Justin Durant, CB David Jones, G/C Uche Nwaneri, P Adam Podlesh, WR Mike Sims-Walker
5th Year (4) -RB Maurice Jones-Drew, TE Marcedes Lewis, FB Montell Owens, S Anthony Smith
6th Year (2) -S Sean Considine, LB Kirk Morrison
7th Year (6) -OT Jordan Black, FB/RB Greg Jones, QB Luke McCown, PK Josh Scobee, G Justin Smiley, LB Daryl Smith
8th Year (3) -G Vince Manuwai, CB Rashean Mathis, WR Kassim Osgood
9th Year (2) -QB David Garrard, DE Aaron Kampman
11th year (1) -C Brad Meester

Small school success
The Jaguars have 15 players on their 53-man roster who arrived in the NFL from a Division I-AA school:  LS Jeremy Cain (Massachusetts), CB Derek Cox (William & Mary), CB Michael Coe (Alabama State), LB Justin Durant (Hampton), DE Larry Hart (Central Arkansas), RB Rashad Jennings (Liberty), CB David Jones (Wingate), RB/KR Deji Karim (Southern Illinois), DE Austen Lane (Murray State), CB Rashean Mathis (Bethune-Cookman), RS/CB Scotty McGee (James Madison), C Brad Meester (Northern Iowa), CB William Middleton (Furman), TE Zach Miller (Nebraska-Omaha) and FB Montell Owens (Maine).

Give me a new number!
Defensive end Aaron Morgan changed his jersey number to 97. Cornerback David Jones will wear number 31 and defensive tackle Landon Cohen will wear 99.

Roster tidbits Average age:25.17
Average NFL experience:3.66
Oldest player:Center Brad Meester, 33
Youngest player:Defensive end Aaron Morgan, 21 (12/30/88)
Tallest player:Tight end Zach Potter, 6-7
Shortest player:Running back Maurice Jones-Drew, 5-7
College with the most Jaguars:(3), San Diego State (Russell Allen, Kirk Morrison, Kassim Osgood) and Rutgers (Tiquan Underwood, Courtney Greene, Kevin Haslam).

Did you know?
Eight of the Jaguars' 10 defensive linemen were not with the club in 2009.  The only returning linemen are defensive tackle Terrance Knighton and defensive end Derrick Harvey. **

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content