Skip to main content

Jaguars News | Jacksonville Jaguars -


Paul Whittenburg, head football coach at Hilliard High School, has been named the final Jaguars Coach of the Week for 1997. Whittenburg was selected following his team's 12-7 win over Episcopal last week.

During the 1997 high school football regular season the Jaguars, WTLV-TV and the Florida Times-Union have recognized area coaches for their hard work and dedication to young people. The coach's impact on his team, school and community were also factors in the selection process. All schools were eligible regardless of size, league or division.

Each weekly winner receives a $500 check from NFL Charities for his school's football program, a framed certificate signed by Jaguars head coach Tom Coughlin and NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, Jaguars "Play Football" T-shirts for all of the team's players and coaches, a souvenir football signed by Coughlin and a specially designed Jaguars "Coach of the Week" hat.

A Coach of the Year winner will be selected from the pool of weekly winners and will receive an additional $1,000 award.

The Coach of the Year and all weekly winners will be recognized at the Jaguars annual Draft Class/Rookies Dinner next spring. This year's previous winners have included Raines' Welton Coffey, Parker's John Kemp, Union County's Robby Pruitt, Fernandina Beach's Greg Purdum, Lee's Ed Barrett, Mandarin's Craig Howard, Nease's Matt Morris, White's Dan Disch, Baldwin's Carl West and Bolles' Corky Rogers.

For more information about the Coach of the Week program, contact the Jaguars Community Relations Department at (904) 633-6582.


This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.